Blue Jays Announce 2015 Webster Awards

Matt Hague
Matt Hague

Last week, we tried to predict who the Blue Jays would select as their team MVPs for the club’s annual R. Howard Webster Awards. Today, we check our predictions to see how we did!


banner ad


The final totals had six of the eight winners being hitters with one starting pitcher and relief pitcher picking up their team MVP award. Interestingly, there were no repeat winners this year with all eight players picking up the Webster for the first time.



Dominican Summer League Blue Jays


The DSL Blue Jays’ Webster Award winner is Norberto Obeso who led the Dominican Summer League in hits and finished fourth in batting average, hitting .351. Needless to say, this was not a surprise.

2014 Winner: Enmanuel Moreta
2015 Prediction: Norberto Obeso
2015 Winner: Norberto Obeso


Gulf Coast League Blue Jays


My prediction of Justin Maese as the winner of the Webster Award for the GCL Blue Jays was confirmed. His 1.01 ERA and 1.06 WHIP made him probably the most consistent and best pitcher for the GCL Blue Jays and was deserving of the award.

2014 Winner: Juan Kelly
2015 Prediction: Justin Maese
2015 Winner: Justin Maese


Bluefield Blue Jays


20-year-old Panamanian Rodrigo Orozco was, by far, the best hitter on the Bluefield Blue Jays with a .300/.368/.435 slash line before a late-season promotion to Vancouver and our prediction was proven correct.

2014 Winner: Richard Urena
2015 Prediction: Rodrigo Orozco
2015 Winner: Rodrigo Orozco


Vancouver Canadians


This was the award that actually took me by the most surprise. I was thinking that Sean Hurley, with a team-leading nine home runs and .253/.363/.441 line (.804 OPS) was good enough to win the award. Instead, the Blue Jays went with catcher Ryan Hissey, the Jays’ 14th round pick of the 2015 draft. In addition to hitting .269/.363/.372 slash line (a .735 OPS), Hissey threw out 30% of the runners trying to steal.

2014 Winner: Franklin Barreto
2015 Prediction: Sean Hurley
2015 Winner: Ryan Hissey


Lansing Lugnuts


After the leak from Jesse Goldberg-Strassler about a week and a half ago, there wasn’t much suspense about who the Blue Jays would name the Lugnuts’ MVP. As we’ll see in Buffalo, a League MVP award means a team MVP award.

2014 Winner: Mitch Nay
2015 Winner: Ryan McBroom


Dunedin Blue Jays


This one was a little bit surprising, mostly because I’ve never seen the Blue Jays award the MVP to a relief pitcher. Browning made 31 appearances with the Dunedin Blue Jays, posting a miniscule 0.78 ERA and 0.55 WHIP, walking just two batters in 34 2/3 innings with 40 strikeouts. His numbers returned to a more normal line in his 18 2/3 innings in New Hampshire but allowing only three runs in Dunedin and saving 22 games there was enough to earn a Webster.

2014 Winner: Dwight Smith, Jr.
2015 Prediction: Anthony Alford
2015 Winner: Wil Browning


New Hampshire Fisher Cats


This is one that I got right and Ryan Schimpf was awarded the Webster after his third consecutive season leading the Blue Jays’ organization in home runs. Schimpf hit .271/.378/.581 with the Fisher Cats and despite lower numbers in Buffalo, Schimpf’s stats dominated the New Hampshire leaderboard to the point that he was the club’s MVP.

2014 Winner: Jon Berti
2015 Prediction: Ryan Schimpf
2015 Winner: Ryan Schimpf


Buffalo Bisons


I predicted that Dalton Pompey would win the award, mostly because I was convinced that the Blue Jays looked to their home-grown talent for the Websters. It looks like a league MVP award is enough to convince that Blue Jays that a player is the MVP of the club and Matt Hague wins the award after a fantastic season with the Buffalo Bisons.

2014 Winner: Kevin Pillar
2015 Prediction: Dalton Pompey
2015 Winner: Matt Hague


If you like us here, “like” us on Facebook!

Get your 2015 Toronto Blue Jays Minor League Handbook now! All the up-to-date information on the Blue Jays minor league system with 250 player profiles, team information and more! You can find it at the BJfA Shop or at our distribution partner,!

The All-New Blue Jays from Away Premium Content section is here! Combined with the 2015 Toronto Blue Jays Minor League Handbook, it will be your best resource to the Toronto Blue Jays minor league system for just $1.99 per month or $15 for a full year (and get the 2015 Toronto Blue Jays Minor League Handbook free with a yearly subscription)!

All photos are copyright Blue Jays from Away (2013-2015) and may not be used without permission.

2 thoughts on “Blue Jays Announce 2015 Webster Awards

Comments are closed.